FAMILY CARS (or TOUR BUS TIPS)

Getting the Boy Band from one place to another requires a tour bus – and like many other larger-than-average families, we have chosen the ugliest car we could find that met our needs. Actually, given the width of child safety seats, plus the amount of space you typically need in a family car for empty crisp packets, sticky juice boxes and forgotten hoodies, even families with 2.4 children often need to ‘upgrade’ their vehicle. (I’d like to be clear: by ‘upgrade’ I really mean ‘upsize’ – do not for one moment think you’ll be improving your car-owning status by investing in a Multi-Person Vehicle.)

Car-purchasing is dull at the best of times – even duller when buying an ugly big box on wheels. To help you in your decision-making process, here are some pointers:

1. Choose the most depressing colour you can find. As you have given up your dream of ever owning a two-seater Audi TT, manufacturers of MPVs have acknowledged this in an array of colour options: Dust Of Your Dreams Grey, (Financial) Suicide Silver, Got the (Baby) Blues and This Is The Closest You’ll Get To Bordeaux In The Next Twenty Years.

We chose Dust Of Your Dreams Grey. It’s a somewhat sombre colour. Having researched it thoroughly before choosing, I can tell you exactly how the colour was formulated. First, the car manufacturer asked a selection of single ladies in their twenties what their dream car of the future was. With those answers in hand, the manufacturer then took the said purple Lotus Elise, the cerulean blue Mercedes SLK and the sunshine yellow Ferrari 458 Italia and incinerated them until nothing was left but a pile of ash. This ash was then mixed with the tears of loss shed by mothers in their thirties, grieving for their figures, their sleep and those sports cars they would now never own. Et voilà – the colour of our current tour bus was born.

ugly grey tour bus

2. Go for a practical colour for the interior. Forget taupe or silver birch. You are looking for camouflage here (after all, wars will be raged in this vehicle). Tick the box that says Weetabix Grey, Creamy Spit-Up or Cadbury’s Brown. In the long run, this will save you a fortune on car valeting services. If you can’t see the food, it isn’t there.

3. Safety first! In the 1970s, my mother didn’t need an MPV. She could just put 6-8 children (family and friends) in the back of her Ford Cortina Estate – a few of us were on friends’ knees, a couple of us loose in the boot, one or two could stand between the front seats – and she could ferry us to the Wimpy at a moment’s notice. Now, however, I give myself an extra 20 minutes to get the Boy Band strapped into a variety of child safety seats and restraints. These boys are my retirement fund. It’s worth keeping them safe. But given that the tour bus is (I believe I have mentioned this before) U to the G to the L to the Y, I could probably just as well have opted for a Panzer tank. Equally aerodynamic. Similar acceleration. Excellent side impact protection.

4. Sliding doors are a must! You can probably appreciate the importance of a sliding door for the back seat passengers. When you’ve done some shonky parking (and we all have), it’s great that the kids can sidle out without banging a swing door into someone else’s two-seater Audi TT. (It could have been ours! Dammit! It should have been ours!) Our own tour bus bears evidence of the selfishness of other families who didn’t invest in sliding doors. In fact, if I were a CSI tech, I could scrape chips of Dust of Your Dreams Grey from many a car door of a family who didn’t choose the sliding door option and but did choose to cozy up to the tour bus in a car park.

5. Automatic sliding doors are even better!  Remember when you were little and misbehaving in the back of the car (with your seven unseatbelted friends) and your mum used to yell, “Stop fighting or I’m going to put you out and you can walk home!”? Well, an automatic sliding door allows you to escalate that threat. You make that pronouncement, you pull to the side of the road, and you don’t even have to step out of the car to truly terrify your kids. Straight to DEFCON 1, baby. With a simple push of a button, that door will whoosh open and your kids will scream with fear that they are about to be ejected for the long walk home. Believe me, the Boy Band’s screams are shrill!

6. Install toilet facilities! All good tour buses have conveniences, but most family MPVs seem to lack them. A big oversight! I suggest stuffing some nappies, an empty bottle (ah! the blessings of having boys) and a port-a-potty in the boot of your car. Or be prepared to stop before you exit the driveway for a desperately needed toilet-break.

I just wish someone had shared the above tips with me before I went out and bought a second car to use as a little run-around after Drummer Boy (the third child) was born. I chose a racing-red Ferrari with white leather interior. What was I thinking??? It’s been absolutely ruined inside – not to mention all those ugly paint chips of Dust of Your Dreams Grey that adorn the edges of the doors (thanks to poor parking by MPV-owners). May as well burn it now…

7 thoughts on “FAMILY CARS (or TOUR BUS TIPS)

  1. Have you seen 19 and counting? That large family had bought a coach which used to belong to a hockey team. Right up your street!

  2. O. M. G. (which shall heretofore always refer to Oh My Gosh if it is coming from me – Or better, O. M. C. (Oh My Cod!)…. THIS IS SO FUNNY! I have to share it with my daughter – her “boy band” is still more of an Everley Brothers affair, but way cuter and without the weirdness of both playing exactly the same instrument in exactly the same way at exactly the same time. (seriously? They needed 2 guitars? I don’t think so…) This is another tour de force … and I can say I knew you before you were Freshly Pressed… won’t be long now, with material like this! 🙂 Fantastic read. Made my day!

    • Thank you so much, Mother Hen! You are too kind!

      I’m an “Oh My Goodness!” kinda girl myself, so I will take note of your own Gosh or Cod preference! 😉

      I do hope I get Freshly Pressed soon and that it is not as painful as it sounds!

      I think you may be my first fan – for that, you have my eternal gratitude! 😉

  3. this post should be published in ‘What Car?’ – so that those fantasies of owning a sexy family car are CRUSHED at the onset.
    Entre nous, after my 4th child arrived and we had to get a new car, I absolutely refused to get a car with sliding doors. I gave in to everything else (or gave up on everything else) but just couldn’t quite accept total immersion into the family-people-moving-pile-of-ugliness-on (safe)-wheels……. of course, EVERY SINGLE time I use my car with the kids, I regret not having the said doors. every.single.time.

    • I don’t want to boast – or make you feel at all bad about not having sliding doors – but sliding doors ROCK! You really should get yourself some.

      And you are right, I will submit this blog page to What Car? right now. Just hope it’s not too technical for the petrol heads.

  4. Pingback: The Lyrics of my Life – Part 2 | boy band in the making

Leave a Reply

